Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo JakemanTitle: The Exes' Revenge
Author: Jo Jakeman
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: September 11, 2018

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A wickedly dark debut thriller about three women who've all been involved with the same man and realize the one thing they have in common is that they all want revenge against him...

Divorces are often messy, and Imogen's is no exception. Phillip Rochester is controlling, abusive, and determined to make things as difficult as possible. When he shows up without warning demanding that Imogen move out of their house by the end of the month or he'll sue for sole custody of their young son, Imogen is ready to snap.

In a moment of madness, Imogen does something unthinkable--something that puts her in control for the first time in years. She's desperate to protect her son and to claim authority over her own life.

But she wasn't expecting both Phillip's ex-wife and new girlfriend to get tangled up in her plans. These three very different women--and unlikely allies--reluctantly team up to take revenge against a man who has wronged them all.

Amazon | Book Depository

โƒ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. โƒ

Review

The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with it’s shocking ending. This dark thriller has an interesting cast of female characters who come together to seek justice for themselves. It is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies.

While the book starts out with the abusive husband already dead, there is still quite a bit of mystery surrounding his death to be solved. Jakeman sets the story up so that the reader is constantly guessing about certain events and how Phillip actually dies in the end. I certainly didn’t see what was coming quite a few times while reading.

The female characters in the book are ones that are easy to root for. Each of Phillip’s wives/ ex-wives have been abused by him either physically or mentally. The fact that he is a respected member of the local police force has made Phillip essentially untouchable according to his female victims. Each of these women play an integral role in the plot and their personalities are so different that at times it can be quite humorous.

This thriller is definitely aย very dark read. For these women, it seems that there is no other way to seek revenge on their abuser and obtain justice. The concept of The Exes’ Revengeย reminds me of Big Little Lies because of the abusive husband theme. If you enjoy these types of dark thrillers, then this book is sure to be one to try.

Jo Jakeman’s The Exes’ Revenge is one thriller to add to your TBR this fall. The female characters are full of intrigue and you will most definitely find yourself empathizing with them. This book is a quick read that will keep you guessing.

10 thoughts on “Review: The Exes’ Revenge by Jo Jakeman

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    I don’t read a lot of adult fiction, but man with these dark thrillers you are throwing out! Another to add to the TBR

  2. Mary @StackingMyBookShelves! says:

    Ok you had me at the first line – “The Exesโ€™ Revenge by Jo Jakeman is a fast-paced story of revenge that will surprise the reader with itโ€™s shocking ending.” I have to read this one! Nothing I love more than a fast paced book and an ending I didn’t see coming!
    Great Review!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.