Whisper by Lynette Noni: Review & Giveaway

Whisper by Lynette Noni: Review & Giveaway

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Whisper by Lynette Noni, hosted by Rockstar Book Tours! I am so excited to share my thoughts with you on this exciting new sci-fi series. Keep reading to learn about the book and enter the giveaway for a finished copy of the book. (US only)

Whisper by Lynette Noni: Review & GiveawayTitle: Whisper (Whisper #1)
Author: Lynette Noni
Publisher: KCP Loft
Publication Date: May 1, 2018
Goodreads
four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

“Lengard is a secret government facility for extraordinary people,” they told me. 

I believed them. That was my mistake.

There isn’t anyone else in the world like me.

I’m different. I’m an anomaly. I’m a monster. 

For two years, six months, fourteen days, eleven hours and sixteen minutes, Subject Six-Eight-Four — ‘Jane Doe’ — has been locked away and experimented on, without uttering a single word.

As Jane’s resolve begins to crack under the influence of her new — and unexpectedly kind — evaluator, she uncovers the truth about Lengard’s mysterious ‘program’, discovering that her own secret is at the heart of a sinister plot … and one wrong move, one wrong word, could change the world.

Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review

It’s been a while since I have picked up a sci-fi novel, but now I definitely want to get back into the genre. Whisper is an incredibly secretive book with a main character who has not spoken since her capture. The writing style is also fitting for the story, making it even more enjoyable.

This book tells the story of a girl who is being experimented on in a government laboratory. She has not spoken a word since her capture, and she has no idea why she is there. I don’t want to say too much about the plot because it is very secretive and there are some important twists, but I will say that I loved the suspense and the pacing. Whisper is a tense sci-fi novel that is perfect for fans of Shatter Me.

I really enjoyed Jane’s character. Her backstory is hazy, and I was just dying to know why she doesn’t speak and what her real name is. Jane is strong and able to withstand torture every day, and she doesn’t whine about it, which I appreciated. Following along as Jane uncovers the secrets of her past is an entertaining experience, and I enjoyed having her as a narrator.

Lynette Noni’s writing style is what makes the story so gripping. As I mentioned before, the book is filled with suspense as the reader must crack the case of Jane’s past along with her. But what I especially enjoyed is the way Jane’s character is written. It is appropriate for the story, and she acts her age which is actually a pretty rare occurrence in YA. The countless plot twists and the believability of the story as well definitely make Whisper a captivating book.

Whisper is a mysterious story about a girl being experimented on in a lab that contains a strong main character. I enjoyed the suspenseful writing style and the characterization. This is the perfect sci-fi novel, especially for those who enjoyed Shatter Me.

About Lynette Noni

Image of Lynette Noni

Lynette Noni studied journalism and academic writing at university before completing a degree in human behavior. She lives on the Sunshine Coast in Australia and can be found baking cupcakes, singing along to animated movies, or daydreaming about being swept away to a fantasy world. Some days, she can even do all three at once — and still find the time to sneak in a nap afterwards.


Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of WHISPER, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule

Week One:

4/23/2017- The Candid Cover– Review

4/24/2017- Smada’s Book Smack– Review

4/25/2017- FUONLYKNEW– Excerpt

4/26/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review

4/27/2017- Simply Daniel Radcliffe– Review

Week Two:

4/30/2017- A Dream Within A Dream- Review

5/1/2017- Mama Reads Blog–  Guest Post-Playlist

5/2/2017- Book-Keeping– Review

5/3/2017- BookHounds YA– Review

5/4/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Excerpt

11 thoughts on “Whisper by Lynette Noni: Review & Giveaway

  1. taylortalksbooks says:

    This one sounds so interesting! The fact that you said it’s great for fans of Shatter Me also has me very intrigued so it’s definitely been added to my TBR. Lovely review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.