Friday Reads: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Friday Reads

Welcome to this week’s edition of Friday Reads! Today I am sharing  a few quotes from Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell. This book is a fast-paced thriller that is really hard to put down.

Book Beginnings is a book meme hosted by Rose City Reader where participants share quotes (the first sentence, or so) of the book, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice, and the rules are quite simple: Grab a book, any book, and turn to page 56 or 56% in your e-reader. Find any non-spoilery sentence(s) and post.

THIS WEEK’S BOOK:

Friday Reads: Then She Was Gone by Lisa JewellTitle: The She Was Gone
Author: Lisa Jewell
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: April 17, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.

Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.

Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters—and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she’s tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?

Amazon | Book Depository

Thoughts

I am about 20% into this book and I am excited to have some time to devout to it this weekend. It really is one that I have a hard time setting down. The characters are really interesting and I am intrigued by the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of Laura.

BOOK BEGINNING

Those months, the months before she disappeared, were the best months. Really. Just the best. Every moment presented itself to her like a gift and said, Here I am, another perfect moment, just look at me, can you believe how lovely I am?

FRIDAY 56

Floyd laughs and stares at her fondly. And then he stops laughing and stares at her intently. He says, “You know, I googled you. After our first date.”

About Lisa Jewell

image of Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell was born and raised in north London, where she lives with her husband and two daughters. She is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA TODAY bestselling author of twelve novels, including The House We Grew Up In and The Third Wife.

20 thoughts on “Friday Reads: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

  1. Kathy Martin says:

    This does sound like an intriguing book. I’m glad you’ll have time to read it come the weekend. I love it when a book catches my attention so much that I don’t want to do anything but read it. This week I am featuring Lord of the Pies by Nell Hampton – a nice cozy mystery. Happy reading!

  2. Jaime Lester says:

    I am intrigued. I like a good mystery, and this seems like it could be just that. And I am a fan of the cover!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.