Wishlist Wednesday: Winterfolk by Janel Kolby

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book: Winterfolk by Janel Kolby

Winterfolk Janel KolbyTitle: Winterfolk
Author: Janel Kolby
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 6, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):

A gritty yet beautiful debut novel about a homeless teen who relies on the magic she sees in the world around her to help her find her place, perfect for fans of Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap

Rain is a homeless teen living with her father in the woods outside Seattle, near a community of other homeless people called the Winterfolk. She finds safety and sanctuary in this hidden world—until the day that safety is shattered when she learns the city plans to clear the woods of everyone who lives there. Now she’s forced to confront Seattle, which is full of strange sights, sounds, people—and memories.…

Fans of Jandy Nelson, Bennett Madison, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Nova Ren Suma will be enchanted by the gorgeous writing and Rain’s unique voice.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading

Review: No Saints in Kansas by Amy Brashear

Review: No Saints in Kansas by Amy BrashearTitle: No Saints in Kansas
Author: Amy Brashear
Publisher: Soho Teen
Genres: Historical Fiction
Publication Date: November 14, 2017
Rating: two-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A gripping reimagining of Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood and the brutal murders that inspired it

November is usually quiet in Holcomb, Kansas, but in 1959, the town is shattered by the quadruple murder of the Clutter family. Suspicion falls on Nancy Clutter’s boyfriend, Bobby Rupp, the last one to see them alive.

New Yorker Carly Fleming, new to the small Midwestern town, is an outsider. She tutored Nancy, and (in private, at least) they were close. Carly and Bobby were the only ones who saw that Nancy was always performing, and that she was cracking under the pressure of being Holcomb’s golden girl. The secret connected Carly and Bobby. Now that Bobby is an outsider, too, they’re bound closer than ever.

Determined to clear Bobby’s name, Carly dives into the murder investigation and ends up in trouble with the local authorities. But that’s nothing compared to the wrath she faces from Holcomb once the real perpetrators are caught. When her father is appointed to defend the killers of the Clutter family, the entire town labels the Flemings as traitors. Now Carly must fight for what she knows is right.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: No Saints in Kansas by Amy Brashear

No Saints in Kansas by Amy Brashear fictionalizes how the teens in Holcomb reacted to the tragic events of the time. While it may seem like an interesting concept to focus on the teen perspective of the notorious Clutter family murders, No Saints in Kansas is an inadequate historical fiction novel that has an unrelatable main character, and is a true story that is better left alone. Continue reading

Review: Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

Review: Rosemarked by Livia BlackburneTitle: Rosemarked (Rosemarked #1)
Series: Rosemarked #1
Author: Livia Blackburne
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: November 7, 2017
Rating: three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art—until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule—even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.

This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

When I first saw Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne, I was very intrigued. I love the idea of a healer teaming up with a soldier to save the world. This story contains potions and spying, and the main character is admirable. Unfortunately, the pacing of the story is too slow for my liking, so the book wasn’t as enjoyable as it could have been. Continue reading

Wishlist Wednesday: Everless by Sara Holland

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless Sara HollandTitle: Everless
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 2, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Amazon “Book Depository

Continue reading