Wishlist Wednesday # 129: Winterfolk by Janel Kolby

Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by  Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about and have yet to read.

This week’s book:

winterfolk-janel-kolbyTitle: Winterfolk
Author: Janel Kolby
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: February 6, 2018

Summary (from Goodreads):A gritty yet beautiful debut novel about a homeless teen who relies on the magic she sees in the world around her to help her find her place, perfect for fans of Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap

Rain is a homeless teen living with her father in the woods outside Seattle, near a community of other homeless people called the Winterfolk. She finds safety and sanctuary in this hidden world—until the day that safety is shattered when she learns the city plans to clear the woods of everyone who lives there. Now she’s forced to confront Seattle, which is full of strange sights, sounds, people—and memories.…

Fans of Jandy Nelson, Bennett Madison, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Nova Ren Suma will be enchanted by the gorgeous writing and Rain’s unique voice.

Goodreads | Amazon

I don’t think that I have ever read a book that had a homeless person as the main character. The synopsis is not overly descriptive, however, the concept of having to adjust one’s way of life and experiencing the world differently really intrigues me. Looking forward to reading this debut next year!

7 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday # 129: Winterfolk by Janel Kolby

  1. kozbisa says:

    This is a yes for me too. They had me at Jandy Nelson (would she please write another book!), and this whole mystery of the “memories”. I hope it’s great!

  2. Jaime Lynn says:

    I like the description of this book. It gives you an IDEA, not the whole story minus details. This is definitely one that I think I could get into! The only thing… the cover? Story?!

  3. Literary Feline says:

    What an interesting premise! I haven’t read too many books with a homeless person as the protagonist either. This one sounds really good though, and I hope you enjoy it! I’ll have to keep my eye out for it.

    Here’s mine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.