Teaser Tuesdays #81: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

 

images

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today’s Teaser Tuesday: 

23655201Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back… and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo…but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations – but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Goodreads | Amazon

I have been interested in reading this book for quite some time. I am really quite enjoying these historical fiction novels lately and I am very intrigued by this character, Leo, and her speech impediment. It must have been a difficult time for many who had various disorders in the late 1800s.

Here is the teaser:

So there it is, my secret, my scandal: Mad Miss Mimic. The name is apt enough, for it comes on me like a madness at times, so that I say things that I don’t truly understand, or would never say if I could stop myself.

18 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #81: Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

    • Candid Cover says:

      I have seriously surprised myself lately with these historicals! I am finding this one has more of a focus on the character and her speech impediment than the time period, although I am only about 25% into it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s