ARC Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

 

18982194

I received an e-ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: My Unscripted Life
Author: Lauren Morrill
Publisher: Delacorte
Publication Date: October 11, 2016
Stars: 4/5

Summary (from Goodreads): Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you’ll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star.

Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she’d gone away, she wouldn’t have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It’s not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she’s just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there’s a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there’s more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . .

Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon | iBooks

My Unscripted Life is all about movie making and more of the backstage action. It is set in a cozy small-town, which I really enjoyed. The main character is an artist and is persistent. I would definitely recommend this to those looking for a quick and fluffy read.

My Unscripted Life is, you guessed it, a book about acting and movie making. In this story, a small-town girl meets her childhood celebrity crush when he comes to town for his new movie. I found there to be many clichés in the book, which some people might be put off by, but it went well with the already perfectly clichéd concept. This is a pretty quick and light read, perfect after reading an intense fantasy.

I loved the small-town setting in My Unscripted Life. I feel like this is the perfect cozy town for a movie to be shot. I especially enjoyed the diner and the fact that all the residents seem to be friends. What I enjoyed even more was the behind-the-scenes of the movie set. In all the acting books I’ve read, the main character has an on-stage role. It was a nice change being shown more of the backstage aspects.

Dee is a very interesting character! She is an artist and gets a job as a PA for the movie in town. She is a very perseverant character and copes well with her boss who gives her strange tasks and criticizes her artwork. I loved how she works behind the scenes and doesn’t really know about the acting world and what she’s allowed to do. Dee is an original character who really added to the novel.

My Unscripted Life is an acting book set in a small-town. I loved the main character and her behind-the-scenes work. I would recommend this to fans of books like The Movie Version and Unscripted Joss Byrd.

10 thoughts on “ARC Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    Sometimes cliches just work! If an author is writing a book FOR the cliches, then it usually tends to be a great thing. If an author is trying to use cliches to pull in readers, it doesn’t work as well. This sounds like a very cute story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s