Waiting on Wednesday #64: The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s book:

Book cover for The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch
The Movie Version
Author: Emma Wunsch
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: October 11, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): A whip-smart, heart-wrenching debut YA novel about first love, first loss, and filmmaking that will delight fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven

In the movie version of Amelia’s life, the roles have always been clear. Her older brother, Toby: definitely the Star. As popular with the stoners as he is with the cheerleaders, Toby is someone you’d pay ten bucks to watch sweep Battle of the Bands and build a “beach party” in the bathroom. As for Amelia? She’s Toby Anderson’s Younger Sister. She’s perfectly happy to watch Toby’s hijinks from the sidelines, when she’s not engrossed in one of her elaborately themed Netflix movie marathons.

But recently Toby’s been acting in a very non-movie-version way. He’s stopped hanging out with his horde of friends and started obsessively journaling and disappearing for days at a time. Amelia doesn’t know what’s happened to her awesome older brother, or who this strange actor is that’s taken his place. And there’s someone else pulling at her attention: a smart, cute new boyfriend who wants to know the real Amelia—not Toby’s Sidekick. Amelia feels adrift without her star, but to best help Toby—and herself—it might be time to cast a new role: Amelia Anderson, leading lady.

Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon


I am really intrigued by this book! I love any book with acting/filmmaking aspects, and I am so excited about the filmmaking components in The Movie Version. Since this book is recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven, I can tell right away that this book is for me. I am super excited to read this book when it comes out in the fall!

13 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #64: The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch

  1. Lillian @ Mom With a Reading Problem says:

    This sounds awesome! I’m not usually a fan of contemporary YA, but the blurb has me curious. And I like reading sibling books (maybe because I’m an only child). Thanks for sharing 😀

  2. Dani Chapman says:

    I will have to suggest this one to my sister. She is going on a three month bedrest this summer and is making a list of books to read. Thanks so much for spotlighting it today!
    Happy Reading! Dani @ Paulette’s Papers

  3. Jaime Lynn says:

    As a fan of Jandy Nelson, I am all in! This sounds like a really cute book. I recently read It’s All Your Fault by Paul Rudnick which ha the movie making aspect, and I really enjoyed it. I would love to find another like it!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge