Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa GorzelanczykTitle: Arrows
Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: January 26th 2016

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Amazon

Book Review: Arrows

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a fun and unique book that you will want to add to your February to-be-read list. This book has a really interesting storyline that will draw you in and keep you flipping pages all night long. Also, the mixing of genres and a determined main character gives Arrows an added element of excitement in this debut novel.

With a storyline this distinct, Arrows offers a lot to the reader. It is like no other book out there and the pacing is so perfect that it can easily be read in one sitting. In short, Arrows is about a cupid who only shoots one lover by mistake and must go back to our world and try to fix it, because only one person shot can have some pretty bad effects. Sounds like an amazing read to get you through the dark days of winter, right?

Admittedly, at first glance of the synopsis, one might be skeptical about the mix of Greek mythology and Teen Mom in this novel. If you are not a fan of Teen Mom or over dramatization, don’t be fooled. The story does not focus on the main character’s struggles of being a young mother. Arrows is an unexpected blend of contemporary and Greek mythology. This had some hilarious effects on one of the main characters, Aaryn, a cupid, since he really doesn’t understand modern objects and customs.

Another endearing aspect about Arrows is how the other (human) main character, Karma, is a dancer. There is just something about dancers in YA books that is so attractive and attention grabbing. The skill and dedication that the characters must display creates a really exceptional personality. Though Karma wasn’t the wisest main character, her dance skill is truly admirable, especially since she has a child to take care of.

Arrows is a unique book that combines Greek mythology and Teen Mom in a way that is very enjoyable to read. The Greek mythology adds some humour to the book as the cupid struggles to figure out the modern world, and a main character who is a dancer adds admiration. I think anyone could enjoy this book, as there is such a mix of genres and elements!

Playlist: Arrows

About Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. A dreamer for life, Melissa has been writing books since she was nine years old when she penned her first story about a beloved black horse. She is a member of the Class of 2k16, the SCBWI and The Sweet Sixteens. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

4 thoughts on “Review & Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

  1. Olivia-Savannah says:

    Ahaha I love the idea of bringing back the Twilight love triangle with the casting choices! I also read this one and I thought it was so sweet and cute that it made me happy. And I really doubted it being able to have a happy ending! The only thing I would wish was for the Greek mythology elements to be better developed!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.