Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Review: This Raging Light by Estelle LaureTitle: This Raging Light
Author: Estelle Laure
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 22, 2015

three-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love.

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”
Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: This Raging Light

While the cover for This Raging Light by Estelle Laure is absolutely stunning, I had a very hard time enjoying this book. The main character isn’t one that I could easily connect with. Also, there are many loose ends at the end of the book, which left me wondering so many things. However, the writing in this book is truly beautiful and I was able to keep reading because of it.

The main character in This Raging Light, Lucille, was one that I just couldn’t bring myself to relate to. I actually found her to be quite whiny and not very considerate of her friends. It really felt unrealistic and actually rude that Lucille was so pushy with her friends and forcing them to help her. I just feel like considering the situation Lucille is in, she could have been a lot kinder to those she loves instead of demanding things from them all the time. There was just something off-putting about Lucille and I really need to empathize with a main character to find a book enjoyable.

This Raging Light seems sort of incomplete at the end. There are so many loose ends, like where the mom actually went, and how the characters take care of themselves in the end. I believe that this is a stand-alone, so I wish that I could figure out exactly what happened to each of the characters in the end of the book, instead of never knowing. This is another personal opinion, so if you are fine not knowing how things work out at the end of a novel, this book may be one that you enjoy.

Despite the fact the the main character in This Raging Light is not very likeable, and there are questions left unanswered, this book is very well written. There are some very beautiful passages that add to the sadness of the book and help the reader realize what is really going on. This fact made up for the main character and the ending, and kept me reading.

This Raging Light has a pretty bossy main character and so many loose ends that affected my enjoyment of this novel immensely. However, the writing in this book is really wonderful. I look forward to reading more from this debut author, as I believe she has some real talent, despite my criticisms of this particular book.

11 thoughts on “Review: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

  1. Mila says:

    I’m sorry to hear that! When I saw it on Netgalley, I also loved the cover (It’s so colorful and the font so pretty!) but annoying main characters get on my nerves, and lately they all semm like the same! It’s nice to hear that the writing style was good though, I may try this one or the next book by this author.
    Great review! 🙂

    • Candid Cover says:

      It is so hard to write a negative review. I really think that this book shows real promise for this author and I am hoping to see something fantastic from her in the future. 🙂

  2. Jaime Lynn says:

    I like a somewhat open-ended story, but when hardly anything is resolved? It just makes me feel cheated. So, I think I will pass on this one, especially considering a non-relatable, unlikable, rude and whiny MC

  3. debk987 says:

    Thanks for the insightful review. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy but it seems like your opinion isn’t uncommon if Goodreads counts for something but I was really hoping I’d enjoy this one.

  4. aleciask says:

    The cover looked, the blurb sounded great but the story itself doesn’t sound all that great tbh. I really hate unlikable characters and more than that I hate an unfinished story. I think I’ll give this one a miss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.