Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

20820994.jpg

Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: September 16, 2014
Stars: 4.5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads | Book Depository

I’ll Give You the Sun has to be one of the best books that I’ve read this year. There is so much jam-packed into this story, that there is a lot of processing that the reader has to do once the book is read. This novel is not only an amazing book about art, it is also phenomenally written. As well, there are two different narrators who offer constructing sides to the story and give real depth to its plot . All of the elements combine to make I’ll Give You the Sun so unputdownable!

Jandy Nelson has created an incredible art book with I’ll Give You the Sun. The main characters are artists and the whole book features descriptions of their gorgeous art, which I loved! There is sculpting, paining, sketching, many types of art. After reading this, I totally wished that I were better at sculpting. I myself am not much of an artist, so I always appreciate reading about others’ talents!

Also, one of the greatest aspects of I’ll Give You the Sun is how it is so beautifully written. There are so many deep and inspirational passages that really made me think. This book is also filled with amazing quotes; some that will make the reader grin, and some for just the opposite. I really regret waiting so long to read this book because it really offers so much to the reader!

Another enjoyable feature of the novel is that it is written from the perspective of each twin. It is really satisfying as a reader knowing information that the characters in the book are not privy to. The reader gets the full background as to why Noah and Jude aren’t speaking, which is extremely helpful. What is also nice about two different perspectives is that Noah and Jude have very contrasting personalities and lives, which gives a different tone for half the book.

I’ll Give You the Sun is an art book that is so vivid. There are two contrasting personalities that are helpful to have while reading.  I really loved this book, and if you’re like me and have waited so long to read this book, I definitely encourage you to pick it up immediately.

12 thoughts on “Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

    • Candid Cover says:

      Hmmm. There are so many mentions of art in the book, since it is one of the main themes. I feel like it would affect your opinion on the book negatively if you aren’t a fan of art. But, it’s up to you! You can always give it a try just to see 🙂

      Like

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    The Sky is Everywhere is one of my favorite books. But for some reason, when I tried this one, I just could’t get into it. I really want to try again, though. I mean, it’s JANDY NELSON!

    Like

  2. Mel says:

    What a great review!! I have read her other book The Sky is Everywhere and I absolutely loved it. I have been dying to read this book but I’ve been severely slacking on it!
    If you haven’t picked up that one I recommend it!

    Like

  3. debk987 says:

    This is a great review and really has me convinced to go out and purchase the book. I absolutely love reading about sibling relationships and this one sounds full of drama, love and heartbreak which is right up my ally!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s