Teaser Tuesdays #30: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

teaser tuesdays

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Today’s Teaser Tuesday:

i'll give you the sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Summary (from Goodreads): A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Goodreads | Book Depository 

I have been wanting to read this book for quite some time! I have set aside some of my other reads so that I can enjoy this wonderful book. I am loving it so far!

Here is the teaser:

“I did four pastel drawings from the permanent collection– a Chagall, a Franz Marc, and two Picassos. I picked those because I could tell the paintings were looking at me as hard as I was looking at them.”

If you have done a Teaser Tuesday yourself, leave a comment with your link and I will be sure to check it out. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #30: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. Literary Feline says:

    I am glad to hear you are enjoying this one. I have been curious about this one since I first started hearing about it.I like the teaser–I probably would avoid any painting in which I felt it was looking at me, personally, but I know now everyone has the same feeling. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jaime Lynn says:

    I started to read this one a long time ago, but never finished it. I want to, but I honestly struggled with it a bit. I ADORE Jandy Nelson’s The Sky is Everywhere, but something about this one didn’t work for me. I will try again though, because it IS Jandy Nelson!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kara S says:

    Here’s 3 sentences (I’m stretching the stated rules — I hope not beyond the intent of the activity) from the short story “Amapola” I’m currently reading in Luis Alberto Urrea’s collection The Water Museum:

    …But I never even smoked chronic, much less the hard stuff. Until I met Pope’s little sister. And when I met her, she was the drug, and I took her and I took her, and when I took her, I didn’t care about anything.”

    I definitely recommend this book based on what I’ve read so far. Cheers, Kara S

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s