Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski ARC Review

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

I received an e-ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Nightfall
Authors: Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
Publisher: Penguin
Publication Date: September 22, 2015
Stars: 3/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours—it comes every twenty-eight years. Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon. The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure. Locks must be taken off doors. Furniture must be arranged. Tables must be set. The rituals are puzzling—bizarre, even—but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line’s gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late. 

Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon

Nightfall is a dystopian novel set on an eerie island where the sun only rises every twenty-eight years. This book definitely has potential to be terrifying and seems like an impressive survival novel. However, the horror aspect in this book is pretty much non-existent and the plot is not as fast-paced as one would expect in a dystopian book, definitely affecting my overall reading experience.

I really loved the world in Nightfall. It is so interesting how sunrise only occurs every twenty-eight years. This idea is so unique and really sets the stage for an epic horror novel, since the story takes place at night on a dark island. The authors did such an amazing job bringing the eerie book to life.

As mentioned above, Nightfall takes place at night, so it must be horrifying, right? Unfortunately, wrong. When I read the summary of this book, I was expecting some major jump-scares and some really terrifying creatures. There were, in fact, creatures, but they were not frightening at all. I went through the whole book bracing myself for some true horror, only to be disappointed at the end of the book when there really was none. I am not a big reader of horror books in the first place because I personally find them to be too creepy, so I mean it when I say it’s not scary.

The plot of Nightfall was sort of lacking in many places. The beginning of the book is extremely captivating and suspenseful. However, once the reader reaches the middle of the book, things begin to become a lot less fast-paced. Not slow enough to make me put down the book, but definitely slow enough to lower my rating of the book. Then comes the ending, and not to spoil anything, but what did I just read?! I definitely think that middle grade readers will enjoy this book more than I did.

Nightfall has such an amazing setting that is perfect for the book. Unfortunately, the horror in this book is lacking and the plot is a bit disappointing. I would recommend this book to middle grade readers more than a YA reader, as most of the elements are better suited for that audience.

4 thoughts on “Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski ARC Review

  1. Jaime Lynn says:

    You hit the nail on the head with the two things that made this book so lacking for me. There was not a bit of horror, which is the main thing I was looking forward to. And the pacing was incredibly slow a good bit of the time. The plot was truly unique and fascinating. I just think more could have been done with it. Still, I enjoyed it and I am glad that I read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s