Review: Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

Review: Between the Notes by Sharon Huss RoatTitle: Between the Notes
Author: Sharon Huss Roat
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: June 16, 2015
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

 When Ivy Emerson’s family loses their house—complete with her beloved piano—the fear of what’s to come seizes her like a bad case of stage fright. Only this isn’t one of her single, terrifying performances. It’s her life.

And it isn’t pretty.

Ivy is forced to move with her family out of their affluent neighborhood to Lakeside, also known as “the wrong side of the tracks.” Hiding the truth from her friends—and the cute new guy in school, who may have secrets of his own—seems like a good idea at first. But when a bad boy next door threatens to ruin everything, Ivy’s carefully crafted lies begin to unravel . . . and there is no way to stop them.

As things get to the breaking point, Ivy turns to her music, some unlikely new friends, and the trusting heart of her disabled little brother. She may be surprised that not everyone is who she thought they were . . . including herself.

Debut author Sharon Huss Roat crafts a charming and timely story of what happens when life as you know it flips completely upside down. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat is a beautiful contemporary novel that will leave readers with a greater understanding about the world in which we live. It contains a phenomenal message and centres around family. Throw in its musical element and you have the ingredients for a whirlwind of emotions! Continue reading

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren GibaldiTitle: The Night We Said Yes
Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Also by this author: This Tiny Perfect World
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: June 16, 2015
Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!
 
Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. 
 
But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.
 
And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.
 
Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. 
 
In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi is one of those contemporary novels that will leave you with a book hangover. It has the perfect mix of romance and excitement. The use of flashbacks, a relatable plot and musical elements make this book so extraordinary.

Continue reading

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky AlbertalliTitle: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood #1)
Series: Simonverse #1
Author: Becky Albertalli
Also by this author: The Upside of Unrequited
Narrator: Michael Crouch
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genres: Contemporary, Diverse
Publication Date: April 7, 2015
Rating: four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. 

Amazon “Book

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is so incredibly amazing! The book  is told in the male perspective of a lovable teen named Simon. This book explores the theme of LGBTQ in such a refreshing way. Also, the narrator, Michael Crouch, really gets into the skin of Simon and adds a wonderful flavour to this story. Continue reading

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie KinsellaTitle: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Also by this author: My Not So Perfect Life
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Genres: Contemporary
Publication Date: June 9, 2015
Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃


Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella is a hilarious book with a family that is comical. It is easily one of the best books of 2015. It contains a clever, goal-oriented main character and plenty of humour. This novel is a pleasant change from typical sick-lit YA novels. Continue reading

Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sarah Raasch

Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sarah RaaschTitle: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1)
Series: Snow Like Ashes #1
Author: Sara Raasch
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genres: Fantasy
Publication Date: October 14, 2014
Rating: four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own. 

Amazon “Book

Review: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch has such a cool concept. I love how some of the kingdoms are the four seasons, but they dislike each other. The capitals of the kingdoms are named after months, like Jannuari. I also found interesting how the members of the different kingdoms have physical characteristics unique to their people. For example, the people of Winter have white hair and pale skin. I have never read anything like Snow Like Ashes. Continue reading