Blog Tour, ARC Review, Playlist & Dream Cast: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

The Night We Said Yes.png
The Night We Said Yes
by Lauren Gibaldi
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: June 16th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Music
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis:
A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!
 
Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. 
 
But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.
 
And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.
 
Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. 
 

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

 

F.png

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi is one of those contemporary novels that will leave you with a book hangover. It has the perfect mix of romance and excitement. The use of flashbacks, a relatable plot and musical elements make this book so extraordinary.

I found it really interesting how The Night We Said Yes is set in both the past and the present. The story begins “Now” and includes flashbacks to “Then”, before one of the characters, Matt, moved away. Gibaldi makes use of this flashing back technique beautifully by revealing so much about how the characters have changed over time. Readers can become engaged and feel as if they have know them forever.

Contemporary realistic fiction at its finest, the plot of The Night We Said Yes is very relatable and relevant. In this book, not everything goes as planned. The friends fight, the couples fight, and there are lots of fireworks. Readers will no doubt find themselves identifying with at least one of the characters in Gibaldi’s novel. The situations are ones that most of us can relate to and they are depicted so wonderfully that it is hard not keep emotions in check while reading.

One of my favourite elements of this book is how Lauren Gibaldi incorporated music to help define the personalities of the characters. Two of the main characters, Jake and Matt, are members of a band. In The Night We Said Yes, the instrument that each band member plays is a reflection of his/her personality. For example, Jake is the lead singer and just happens to be egotistical and demanding of attention. Giving us a window into the persona of these characters in a musical way is such a cool concept.

I recommend The Night We Said Yes to fans of the contemporary genre. It is a sweet book that is quick and entertaining to read. After reading this book, I want to try a night of saying yes of my own!

 

Dream Cast 

Unknown-2.jpeg

Aubrey Peeples as Ella

Unknown-3.jpeg

Nat Wolff as Matt

Unknown-4.jpeg

Dylan O’Brien as Jake

Unknown-5.jpeg

Nicola Peltz as Meg

Playlist 

Track one:

Track two:

Track three:

Track four:

Track five:

F-1.png
F.png
Follow the The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi Blog Tour and don’t miss anything!
F-1.png

Public librarian and author of THE NIGHT WE SAID YES (HarperCollins / HarperTeen, June 16, 2015) and MATT’S STORY (a The Night We Said Yes Novella, out August 2015). Fan of dinosaurs and cheesy jokes. And you.
F.png

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour, ARC Review, Playlist & Dream Cast: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

  1. Elizabeth says:

    This book sounds really interesting and definitely fun! I may have to pick this up next week and pack it for my July summer vacation! Also, I loved the way you added in your dream cast and a playlist. Great touch, although I couldn’t resist a listen and now Wannabe is stuck in my head! LOL. Thanks for the recommendation! Zigazigahhhhhhhhhh.

    Like

  2. Tika says:

    This book just sounds so freaking cute! I love how the author chose musical instruments to display each characters personality. I’m in a mood for a light summery read, and this book is SCREAMING for me to pick it up! Nice review girl, I’m really looking forward to this one 🙂

    Like

  3. twinsturnpages says:

    Reading your review just made me want this book in my hands EVEN MORE! The playlist sounds amazing-literally includes some of my favourite songs, and the fact that Dylan O’Brien and Nat Wolff are in your dream cast just makes me swoon *__* I loved this review!
    Ayesha xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s