Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Publication Date: May 5, 2015
Pages: 416
Stars: 5/5

Summary (from Goodreads): A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon

If you enjoy retellings with newly imagined settings and plots filled with detail, A Court of Thorns and Roses is the book for you. It is nearly impossible to put down and so action-packed. This book is definitely a must-read!

I am a big fan of fairy tale retellings. Naturally, once I heard that A Court of Thorns and Roses is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I was intrigued. This book is one of the best Beauty and The Beast retellings that I have ever read. The “Beauty” in A Court of Thorns and Roses is not sweet or even very beautiful. The “Beast” is actually pretty kind and is only a beast when angered. I really enjoyed how the book is similar, yet so different from the original.

There are two settings in A Court of Thorns and Roses. At the beginning of the book, it takes place in an enormous palace described so beautifully that the reader can imagine themselves there. After an unexpected turn of events, the story twists completely and takes place in a dark realm lead by an evil faerie. I love when books have multiple settings, especially longer books like this one, because it adds more excitement to the story.

The plot in A Court of Thorns and Roses is so detailed and intricately thought out. It is classic Sarah J. Maas with various battle scenes. As the book progresses, it seems like Throne of Glass a bit with different challenges that the main character, Feyre (don’t worry, there is a pronunciation guide in the back of the book ;)), must complete each month. I really like the idea of monthly missions in books. It is quite original and a nice change of pace in the book.

I recommend A Court of Thorns and Roses to fans of the original Beauty and the Beast. It is really interesting comparing this more modern version to the classic tales. This book is definitely one of the best books that I have read this year!

8 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Eduardo Martinez says:

    I have not read this book yet. I am hoping to get to it soon. Now that I hear from you that this book is filled with action, I have to read. I have not read a retelling of a fairy tell yet, but hope to read one soon, and this might be the first. Great review! Thanks for sharing.

    – Eduardo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jaime Lynn says:

    I have a hold on this at the library, and I am waiting on pins and needles to finally get it in my hands. Everything else will be thrown to the side for a while, so I can concentrate solely on this . I cannot wait! Thanks for your awesome review!

    Like

  3. gemiinii90 says:

    I have been seeeing this book on so many blogs but never really took the time to read what it was about. I finally read a review (yours) and I am intrigued! I am adding it to my TBR list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s