ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

20345202

I received an e-ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: The Girl at Midnight
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28th, 2015
Pages: 368
Stars: 4/5
Kindle Edition

Summary (from Goodreads): For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one.

Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

 

Edifying, witty and dynamic! The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is a book that contains so many amazing components. It will easily become a top read for most during 2015.

Goodreads | Amazon

The Girl at Midnight is an impressively informative read and teaches so many amazing words to its readers.  For example, the word Tsundoko: The Japanese word for letting books pile up without reading them all.  I am sure that there are many of us out there who commit this crime, myself included!  Also, the main character, Echo, uses some unusually wacky words to insult her foes, who haven’t got a clue what she is saying! Readers will laugh out loud at her intelligence!

Another element that makes this book unique are the many quotable phrases to discover! One sentence in The Girl at Midnight that really stands out to me is, “She was Humpty Dumpty, and she’d already tumbled from the wall”.  This quote is compelling since this is a familiar children’s nursery rhyme that has been turned into a description of how broken a young girl is. This quote is both brilliant and descriptive. The reader can really grasp what Grey is attempting to convey here.

Also, The Girl at Midnight is so action-packed! The characters are always on the run and fighting the enemies that approach them. They are never safe on their quest to find the firebird and save the kingdom from war. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat and hungry for more.

If you enjoyed The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, I suggest that you read The Girl at Midnight. It is fast-paced, informative and humorous. Definitely a must-read book!

 

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s