Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyTitle: The Girl at Midnight
Author: Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

four-stars
Summary (from Goodreads):

For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one.

Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Edifying, witty and dynamic! The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is a book that contains so many amazing components. It will easily become a top read for most during 2015. 

Amazon “Book

❃ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. ❃

Review: The Girl at Midnight

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey is an impressively informative book to review. It teaches so many amazing words to its readers.  For example, the word Tsundoko: The Japanese word for letting books pile up without reading them all.  I am sure that there are many of us out there who commit this crime, myself included!  Also, the main character, Echo, uses some unusually wacky words to insult her foes, who haven’t got a clue what she is saying! Readers will laugh out loud at her intelligence!

Another element that makes this book unique are the many quotable phrases to discover! One sentence in The Girl at Midnight that really stands out to me is, “She was Humpty Dumpty, and she’d already tumbled from the wall”.  This quote is compelling since this is a familiar children’s nursery rhyme that has been turned into a description of how broken a young girl is. This quote is both brilliant and descriptive. The reader can really grasp what Grey is attempting to convey here.

Also, The Girl at Midnight is so action-packed! The characters are always on the run and fighting the enemies that approach them. They are never safe on their quest to find the firebird and save the kingdom from war. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat and hungry for more.

If you enjoyed The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, I suggest that you read The Girl at Midnight. It is fast-paced, informative and humorous. Definitely a must-read book!

About Melissa Grey

Melissa Grey penned her first short story at the age of twelve and hasn't stopped writing since. As an undergrad at Yale, she learned how ride a horse and shoot a bow and arrow at the same time. She also has a Masters in Art History but that's a much less useful skill.

She is the author of The Girl at Midnight, The Shadow Hour, and the Savage Dawn, out now from Random House.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.